Mango Malpua (Mango Pancake)

I know it’s unusual to hear “Mango Malpua”, but this is what I could think of when I decided to give my husband a double surprise. He has a sweet tooth and was complaining that I haven’t cooked anything sweet for a long time. So, while he was away I looked up in my fridge and found milk and mango. I immediately figured out what I wanted to do with these ingredients, and that was the beginning of a delicious dessert. Of course my husband was delighted to see malpuas, but the real surprise was when he tasted and had a bite of golden and juicy melted mango in it. I am sure he will not complain for a long time now.

Mango Malpua
Here is how I cooked it.

Following preparation will make 8-10 malpuas.

Ingredients –

1 Litre milk
½ cup refined flour
1 ½ cup sugar
1 large ripe mango
Ghee (clarified butter) for deep frying
1 tablespoon desiccated coconut
7-8 almonds roasted & roughly chopped
A pinch of green cardamom powder

Method –

Heat and reduce milk in a pan on low heat while stirring occasionally. Turn off the flame when only 1/4th of the milk is left and you get a creamy consistency. Whisk it well and let it come to room temperature. When it cools down, add flour and mix well. Make sure there are no lumps in the mixture.

In another pan boil sugar with 1 cup of water till the sugar syrup reaches one-string consistency. Add green cardamom powder, stir well and turn off the flame.

Meanwhile, peel and cut 1 inch thick slices of mango and further cut it into large cubes, so that you get 8-10 cubes of mango pulp. Make sure that the mango is not over ripped or it will be difficult to handle.

Heat sufficient ghee in a deep bottom pan or a kadhai (wok) for deep frying. Dip mango cubes in the milk and flour batter and pour it in hot ghee with the help of a ladle. Cook on low to medium heat and turn it over when it starts to change colour. Be very gentle while turning it over. When both sides are done and has a golden brown colour, drain and immerse in sugar syrup immediately. Garnish with desiccated coconut and almonds. You can serve it hot, cold or even at room temperature, it tastes as good all the time.

I am sure you will enjoy making and having it as much as I did. See you soon with another recipe, till then happy cooking. 

Leave a Reply

